Is a DIY Camping Trailer Right for You?


Sometimes, when people consider doing-it-yourself, the first thing that comes to mind is; “how cheap can I build it?”  “I’m on a budget, I want to save money or I can’t afford the ready made one I want.”

What reasons are driving your interest in a DIY project?

When I think about DIY, here are some of the things that come to mind for me:

  • The pride and  joy of building something with my own two hands.
  • Creating something unique.
  • Customizing / tailoring something to the way I plan on using it.
  • An opportunity to expand my brain and learn new skills.
  • The tinkering process and understanding how things work.
  • No one makes what I’m looking for.
  • Expanding on or improving an existing design.
  • The excitement of converting an idea into something tangible and useful.

I don’t want to discourage anyone, but my philosophy is – if the financial aspect is someone’s primary motivation for a DIY project, you may not have the most rewarding experience.  Now combine a mechanical aptitude with the some of the motivations above and that’s a recipe for success.

This is not to say, there isn’t cost saving to be had.  A basic Explorer Box can normally be built for half the price of compact production tent trailers.  What I do find is when I’m tailoring something to my specs, I might spend as much or even more than a comparable off the shelf product and I end up with exactly what I want.

Happy Building!

2 thoughts on “Is a DIY Camping Trailer Right for You?

  1. Hello, I do believe your web site might be having
    internet browser compatibility problems. Whenever I take a look at your web site in Safari, it looks fine however when
    opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping issues.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Aside from that,
    great blog!

    1. Thank you Max, for giving us that heads up. My web master checked the site in IE9 and it seems to work fine – but that’s today. Older IE versions sometimes have little ‘quirks’ that are troublesome. We will continue to monitor the site in older/newest versions and make corrections as needed.

      We appreciate and encourage feedback and thank you again.

Leave a Reply

